State of the Unemployed Union

On Hold | January 10, 2010

Before Thanksgiving I interviewed with a company for the Perfect Position. This position encompassed the best parts of my last two jobs plus the opportunity for advancement. And the money is exactly at the level that I need to be earning. Perfect! The interviewer had said that they were looking to fill the position within three weeks and that I should follow up with her two weeks after this meeting. I left feeling invigorated. This interview had gone incredibly well.

So, I made the requested follow up call exactly two weeks after the interview only to find out that the Perfect Position had been placed on hold. The company had decided to hire a Chief Operating Officer first and then the Perfect Position second. I was surprised because this company had originally wanted to fill this position very quickly but their priorities changed. It was not a “no”. It was a “not now”. I was told to follow up at the end of the month of January, when the company anticipates filling the COO position.

While I did not enjoy this development it did not send me into a depressive spiral. I had begun a temporary assignment and at least have occupation during the waiting period. At the end of this month I will place another follow up call with an optimistic attitude. I know that I am the right candidate to fill this Perfect Position. I have the skill necessary to not only meet the expectations of the position but to exceed them. My personality and level of professionalism are the right fit for the company. I know these things with absolute conviction.

But I have to wonder how often position delays are happening under the current job market conditions. Is my experience unique? Or are thousands of other job applicants hearing the same thing – “not now”? Certainly employers have to watch the bottom line and many are streamlining their processes in order to strengthen their ability to weather this economy. But getting people back to work could only help the economy, so aren’t these employers who advertise open positions and then place those positions on hold only maintaining this awful status quo?

I know that there are many factors involved when a company considers hiring and any reason could cause a company to freeze hiring. It is just frustrating to have been interviewed, given a brief timeframe for the filling of the position, and then being placed on hold. How long should a candidate wait for a company to make a decision, especially when they are working a temporary job that could end any day and no one else is calling?

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

